Durga Puja is a famous Hindu festival when Goddess Durga is worshipped. Durga Puja is also known as Durgotsava or Navaratri . The word Navaratri means ‘nine nights’ in Sanskrit, nava meaning nine and ratri meaning nights,  During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Devi Durga are worshipped. The tenth day is commonly referred to as Vijayadashami or “Dussehra” .



But mostly  Durgotsava refers to five days festivity that  starts from its sixth day i.e Shashthi and continue till Vijayadashami.

Durga Puja festival marks the victory of Goddess Durga over the  demon Mahishasura. Thus, Durga Puja festival epitomises the victory of Good over Evil. In Bengal, Durga is worshipped as Durgotinashini, the destroyer of evil and the protector of her devotees.

Navadurga  different form and a special significance.

Durga Puja Dates, Panchang for 9 Days

Durga Puja Day One – 01 October 2016



Kalash Puja
Shailputri Puja

Durga Puja – 02 October 2016

Chandra Darshan Tithi

Durga Puja Day Two – 03 October 2016

Dwitiya Puja
Brahmacharini Puja

Durga Puja Day Three – 4 October 2016

Tritiya Puja or
Chandraghanta Puja

Sindoor Tritiya Day

Durga Puja Day Four – 5 October 2016

Chaturthi Puja

Kushmanda Puja

Durga Puja Day Five – 6 October 2016

Panchami Puja

Skandamata Puja

Durga Puja Day Six – 7 October 2016

Shashthi Puja

Katyayani Puja
Saraswati Awahan

Durga Puja Day Seven – 8 October 2016

Saptami Puja

Kalaratri Puja

Durga Puja Day Eighth – 9 October 2016,

Ashtami Puja

Maha-Ashtami Puja

Mahagauri Puja
Sandhi Puja, Kumari Puja and Saraswati Puja

Durga Puja Day Nine – 10 October 2016,

Maha Navami Puja
Ayudha Puja

Durga Puja Day Tenth – 11 October 2016,

Dashami Puja
Durga Visarjan, Vijayadashami

Know Detailed Durga Puja Calendar at Drikpanchang.