Navadurga – The Nine Forms Of Goddess Durga

Navadurga  means the manifestation of Durgā in her nine different form. Each goddess has a different form and a special significance.


According to  Devi Mahatmya these nine forms include- Sailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Maha Gowri and Siddhidayini.

The nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped during the nine days of Navratri.

Durga Puja 2016 Dates, Panchang for 9 Days


Among the Nine Durgas, Ma Shailputri is considered to be the first manifestation of goddess Durga.  She carries the trishul and the lotus in her hands. Her vehicle is the Bull, Nandi.

According  to scriptures Sati in her next birth was born as a daughter to Himalaya, the Lord of Mountains.  She was named Parvati .  Since she was born as a daughter to the mountain-king Himalaya, she is also known as Shailputri.  She propitiated Lord Shiva by her severe penance and begot him as her husband.

On the first day of  Navaratri, Ma Shailputri alone is adored and worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Shailaputryai Namah ॐ देवी शैलपुत्र्यै नम:

2. Brahmacharini

Brahmacharini, is the second form of Mother Goddess, and her name means one who practices devout austerity. She holds a rosary in her right hand and a water utensil in her left hand. Filled with bliss and happiness, she is the way to emancipation – Moksha.

On the Second  day of  Navaratri, Ma Brahmacharini alone is adored and worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Brahmacharinyai Namah ॐ देवी ब्रह्मचारिण्यै नम:

3. Chandraghanta

Goddess Chandraghanta mounts the tigress and is the third form of Mother Goddess. She wears the semi-circular moon on her forehead that looks like the bell or Ghanta  and hence, the  name Chandraghanta. She is depicted with ten hands. Goddess Chandraghanta carries Trishul, Gada, sword and kamandalu in Her four left hands and keeps the fifth left hand in Varadamudra. She carries a lotus flower, arrow, Dhanush and Japa Mala in Her four right hands and keeps the fifth right hand in Abhaya Mudra.

This form of the Mother Goddess is ready for war with all her weapons, to protect the peace and welfare of Her devotees. The the sound of the Ghanta on her forehead drives all types of spirits away from Her devotees.

On the Third day of  Navaratri, Maa Chandraghanta  is adored and worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Chandraghantayai Namah ॐ देवी चन्द्रघण्टायै नम:

4. Kushmanda

Kushmanda is the fourth form of the mother goddess. She is considered the creator of the universe. Ma Kushmanda Rides on a lioness and has eight hands. She holds a kamandalu, Dhanush, Bada and Kamal in Her right hands. Her left hands hold Amrit Kalash, japa mala, Gada and Chakra .

On the Fourth  day of  Navaratri, Ma Kushmanda is adored and worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Kushmandayai Namah ॐ देवी कूष्माण्डायै नम:

5.  Skanda Mata

Skanda Mata  is the fifth  form of  ma Durga – the mother of Skanda or Lord Kartikeya.

Goddess Skandamata mounts the ferocious lion. She carries baby Skanda in her lap. Goddess Skandamata is depicted with four hands. She carries lotus flowers in Her upper two hands. She holds baby Skanda in one of Her right hands and keeps the other right hand in Abhayamudra.

On the Fifth  day of  Navaratri, Skanda Mata is  worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Skandamatayai Namah ॐ देवी स्कन्दमातायै नम:

6.  Katyayani

The sixth form of Ma Durga is known as Katyayani.

Goddess Katyayani rides on a magnificent lion and is depicted with four hands. She carries a lotus flower and sword in her left hands respectively and keeps her right hands in Abhayamudra and Varadamudras.

On the Sixth  day of  Navaratri, Ma Katyayani is adored and worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Katyayanyai Namah ॐ देवी कात्यायन्यै नम:

7. Kaal Ratri

The Seventh  form of Ma Durga is known as Kaal Ratri.

Her complexion is dark black and She rides on a donkey. She is depicted with four hands. Her right hands are in Abhayamudra and Varadamudra. She carries a sword and deadly iron hook in her left hands.

On the Seventh  day of  Navaratri, Ma Kaal Ratri is  worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Kalaratryai Namah ॐ देवी कालरात्र्यै नम:

8. Maha Gauri

The Eighth  form of Ma Durga is known as Maha Gauri.

She rides the bull, just like Goddess Shailputri. She has four arms, holding a Trishul in one of her right hands and depicts the Abhayamudra with the other right hand. She carries a Damaru in one left hand and depicts the Varadamudra in her other left hand.

On the Eighth  day of  Navaratri, Maa Maha Gauri is adored and worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Siddhidatryai Namah ॐ देवी सिद्धिदात्र्यै नम:

9. Siddhidatri

Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Goddess Durga.

Goddess Siddhidatri sits on Kamal and rides on the lion. She is depicted with four hands. She has Gada in the one right hand, Chakra in the other right hand, lotus flower in the left hand and Shankh in the other left hand.

She bestows all types of siddhi  to her devotees and hence is worshipped by humans, ghandarvas, asuras and devas alike.

On the Ninth  day of  Navaratri, Maa Siddhidatri is  worshipped.

Mantra: Om Devi Siddhidatryai Namah ॐ देवी सिद्धिदात्र्यै नम: